Motivational books

Maybe it’s just a bad day, but today I am totally against motivational books. My dad sent me one a couple of weeks ago, and I started reading it tonight. I also ended the reading session about 5 minutes after I started. Usually I like self-help books, motivational quotes and all that…. They really help, and as he (my dad) says, one usually keeps you in “spirit” for at least a couple of days – so if you read about two a week, you should be good….

But today I couldn’t help but think: what the freckles (freckles = f**k) does this woman (the author) know about my life? About my struggles? How can she tell me that if I do this or think that I will feel better? This book just wasn’t for me, so I don’t recommend it (it is called The Easiest Way, and it really wasn’t worth my 5 minutes). I didn’t like it – maybe sometime I will change my mind. But today I just wanted to take it and toss it against the wall. I couldn’t, because it was an E-book. Oh well…

On another note, Eat Pray Love did what this book didn’t: it inspired me. I guess because it wasn’t necessarily trying, like this one was. Maybe that’s the secret – don’t try too hard.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by ina on October 25, 2009 at 14:13

    ha! oau, nici mie nu mi-a placut deloc! si eu de obicei incerc sa citesc macar cateva zeci de pagini inainte sa ma hotarasc, but i hated this one din momentul in care am luat-o in mana! you go, girl 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment